Wonders of the Waterways

The original “Seven Wonders of the Waterways” list was compiled in 1946 by Robert Aickman, the co-founder of the Inland Waterways Association. The list features:

  • Pontcysyllte Aqueduct – Llangollen Canal;
  • Standedge Tunnel – Huddersfield Narrow Canal;
  • Caen Hill Lock Flight – Kennet & Avon Canal;
  • Barton Swing Aqueduct – Bridgewater Canal;
  • Anderton Boat Lift – River Weaver and Trent & Mersey Canal;
  • Bingley Five Rise Locks – Leeds & Liverpool Canal;
  • Burnley Embankment – Leeds & Liverpool Canal.

Available to buy now is a series of breathtaking posters celebrating the Seven Wonders of the Waterways (plus a bonus “wonder” – The Falkirk Wheel, a magnificent boat lift located on the Forth and Clyde Canal and Union Canal in Scotland).

Photography by Barry Teutenberg.

Showing all 8 results

Showing all 8 results